Natural and organic hair products.

Having ms I know how important it is when placing or putting anything on or in my body. I think the hardest thing for me to accomplish was items for my hair! I have an issue with fine and thinning hair. I make sure to use shampoo and conditioners that are sulphate, etc free. I have been using doTERRA peppermint essential oil and it has thickened up my hair and the line is not as wide on top of my head. The hair is regrowing due to the oil but the new growth is standing straight up. Now that I got the shampoo, cond. and hair regrowth covered, I needed to find hair products for styling. Products that will tame the new growth back to blend instead of standing out like a sore thumb.

It seems like I’m continuously doing different things with my hair.

From long and wavy to short and layered, I absolutely love to try new things. Currently I’m wearing a long, with lower layers hair style. I have to find something that will not weigh down my hair for its very fine and thin. So Im needing volume and thickness.

I went to the store to pick out a few things and I was shocked. Parabens, formaldehyde, perfume, and many additional toxic ingredients were in every product that I wanted to purchase.

This really is especially frightening due to the fact my son loves to place his fingers (and mouth!) in my hair. I would certainly never desire to risk his safety and health due to the fact I want to appear stylish. So instead of buying those products, I decided I would head out home and uncover an all natural method.

I knew that I had to have a non-greasy, firm hold pomade which could help to keep some volume in my hair all day. Additionally, I wanted something which was non-toxic and simple to wash out.
Do-it-yourself Pomade Ingredients

After carrying out the research, I narrowed down my list to merely only four ingredients: beeswax, coconut oil, bentonite clay, and sandalwood essential oil. Every single ingredient serves a specific purpose which I’ve broken down below:

Beeswax helps make this pomade considerably less greasy and also gives it an excellent firm hold. If you find that you require more hold, simply add another tablespoon of beeswax to the mix. If you need less hold remove one half tablespoon from the recipe.
Coconut oil but not just conditions hair, but will help restore it. Also it battles dandruff! Among my favorite things about coconut oil is the fact that it becomes soft and also pliable in your hands, and will harden back-up on your hair. Its actual melting point is 76°F. This helps to minimize the greasy feeling, but will leave your hair shining and also very soft.
Bentonite clay is a gritty natural powder made from naturally occurring volcanic ash. Many people use it in facial masks as well as for many other external beauty solutions. It is very important to ensure that you obtain a good quality bentonite clay (search for a gray/ashy coloration instead of white colored or chalky colors). In this particular recipe, the bentonite clay helps to give the pomade a gritty, fun texture to play with.
Sandalwood essential oil is my favorite essential oil for hair care. It helps to condition and also repair hair without drying. Bonus: it smells amazing!

DIY All-natural Hair Pomade
Ingredients

two Tablespoons beeswax pastilles (find pastilles here)
3 Tablespoons coconut oil (find unrefined organic coconut oil here)
2 teaspoons bentonite clay (find high quality bentonite clay here)
ten drops sandalwood essential oil (find pure sandalwood EO here)

Directions

Melt beeswax in a double boiler. (I improvise and also use a glass Pyrex mixing bowl inside a pot of boiling water.)
Add coconut oil and blend until melted.
Switch off boiler and add bentonite clay.
Permit mixture to cool slightly while continuing to stir.
Blend in essential oil.
Place into a container. (I use a small mason jar, but any containers works well fine.)

Note: A very little bit of this pomade will go a very long way. I’ve barely even dented my glass jar and I’ve been using it everyday for 14 days.

Homemade Pomade 1

Natural hair products for those suffering with ms and ms symptoms DIY.
Natural hair products for those suffering with ms and ms symptoms DIY.

Variations

For Additional hold: add one more tablespoon of beeswax to the mixture.

For LESS hold: remove 1 half tablespoon from the recipe.

For a less oily pomade: add 1 teaspoon of vegetable glycerin when you add in the coconut oil. You’ll really need to stir the mixture as it cools though, because the glycerin will probably begin to separate. This will also help add texture.

Published by

naturalhealthymsmama.wordpress.com

I have MS but it doesn't have me. Each day I fight MS and my ms symptoms but doing the organic and natural thing. Treating the body and soul, along with the mind is essential for overall health. So creative art is a biggie for me along with my spiritual belief in God.

Leave a Reply

